What are villages?

According to a 2009 publication from the Lands Department of Hong Kong, there are 642 recognised villages in the New Territories, under the Small House Policy. These villages, which are scattered between urbanized parts of the Kowloon peninsula and mainland China, existed when the New Territories were added to the British colony in 1898, but many existed for hundreds of years before that time.

To get a better understanding of these villages, visit our glossary to become familiar with some of the terms used and read our historical timeline to learn how the villages evolved.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s